Debut Irish author Lisa McInerney has won the 2016 Baileys Women’s Prize for Fiction with her first novel The Glorious HeresiesThe Glorious Heresies (John Murray).

At an awards ceremony at the Royal Festival Hall, Southbank Centre, London – hosted by novelist and Prize Co-Founder, Kate Mosse – the 2016 Chair of Judges, Margaret Mountford, presented the author with the £30,000 prize and the ‘Bessie’, a limited edition bronze figurine. Both are anonymously endowed.

Margaret Mountford, Chair of Judges, said: “After a passionate discussion around a very strong shortlist, we chose Lisa McInerney’s The Glorious Heresies, a superbly original, compassionate novel that delivers insights into the very darkest of lives through humour and skilful storytelling. A fresh new voice and a wonderful winner.”

The Glorious Heresies by Lisa McInerney

The Glorious Heresies

by Lisa McInerney

Find out more

The Baileys Women’s Prize for Fiction is the UK’s only annual book award for fiction written by a woman celebrating excellence, originality and accessibility in women’s writing from throughout the world.

Established in 1996 to celebrate and promote international fiction by women throughout the world to the widest range of readers possible, the Prize – now in its twenty first* year and the third year of an ongoing partnership with new headline sponsor, Baileys – is awarded for the best novel of the year written by a woman. Any woman writing in English – whatever her nationality, country of residence, age or subject matter – is eligible.

The judges for the 2016 Baileys Women’s Prize for Fiction judges are:

Margaret Mountford, (Chair), Lawyer and Businesswoman
Naga Munchetty, Broadcast Journalist
Laurie Penny, Writer and Journalist
Elif Shafak, Author
Tracey Thorn, Writer and Singer

“Congratulations to Lisa McInerney – her winning novel The Glorious Heresies is a shining example of the excellence which the Prize has proudly celebrated for 21 years,” commented Syl Saller, Chief Marketing Officer, Diageo. “Books are such wonderful windows into other worlds, and the novels on this year’s Baileys Prize shortlist showcase this perfectly. Lisa McInerney joins a line-up of 20 brilliant winners whose extraordinary talent is an inspiration to us all.”

Novelist & Co-Founder of the Baileys Women’s Prize for Fiction, Kate Mosse, said: “This year, the Prize comes of age. Since 1996, we have honoured novelists of exceptional talent, have promoted and celebrated fiction from all over the world, have brought together readers and writers, and supported literacy, research and reading initiatives. Now, as we celebrate the work of Lisa McInerney – our 21st winner – the list of those shortlisted and winning novels, past and present, stands as a tribute to women’s talent, ingenuity, originality and imagination.”

Lisa McInerney is from Galway and is the author of award-winning blog ‘Arse End of Ireland’. Her debut novel, The Glorious Heresies, was named as a book of the year by The Irish Times, Sunday Independent and Sunday Business Post and has been shortlisted for the 2016 Desmond Elliott Prize and longlisted for the 2016 Dylan Thomas Prize. Her short stories have featured in The Stinging Fly, on BBC Radio 4 and in the anthologies The Long Gaze Back, edited by Sinéad Gleeson, and Town and Country, edited by Kevin Barry.