Mary Ann Sieghart is the chair of judges for the 2022 Women’s Prize for Fiction.

Mary Ann Sieghart is a journalist, broadcaster and author of the bestselling book, The Authority Gap: Why We Still Take Women Less Seriously Than Men, and What We Can Do About It (published by Doubleday). She worked at The Times for nearly twenty years, as Assistant Editor, Comment Editor, Arts Editor and political columnist, and has also worked at the FT, The Economist and The Independent. Mary Ann presents programmes on BBC Radio 4 and BBC World Service and has frequently appeared on Question Time, Any Questions, Newsnight, The Andrew Marr Show, The Today Programme and Woman’s Hour. She has been a Visiting Fellow of All Souls College, Oxford, and is currently a Visiting Professor at King’s College London. She chaired the Social Market Foundation think tank and is a director of The Scott Trust. She is senior trustee of the Kennedy Memorial Trust and has sat on the boards of Tate Modern, Ofcom’s Content Board, the Heritage Lottery Fund and three large FTSE-quoted investment trusts.